Login Restriction

When the Support login restrictions feature of Nextend Social Login is enabled, registration with a provider will no longer allow users to log in with their social accounts if the registration on the website is flagged for admin approval or email verification!

Those plugins which prevent the login by using only the WordPress filters: authenticate or wp_authenticate_user should be supported by default, otherwise users will still be able to login!

Tested and working plugins

New User Approve

Nextend Social Login won’t enable logging in with accounts not approved yet!

Ultimate Member

You need to configure a role in Ultimate Member > User Roles > select or create a role > specify a Registration Status. If you are a Pro user, you can select this role at each provider’s ‘Default roles for user who registered with this provider’ option. As for a free user you can select the Customized role as a default WordPress role in Settings>General>New User Default Role.
Important notes:

  • Please don’t forget to turn on the E-mail notifications in Ultimate Member>Settings>Email tab, otherwise the user won’t receive a notification about their account is approved to login or the registration confirmation email!
  • To send only the registration notifications of Ultimate Member, please make sure you have the “Registration notification sent to” to “Nobody”.

Theme My Login 6.4.17

Theme my Login distinguish approved and verified users with their roles. New users will get the pending role, which prevent them logging in until their account is approved or verified via the email, that was sent to their email address. This means you need to adjust some settings to make Nextend Social Login support TML’s login restrictions.
To make NSL support TML’s login restrictions, please make sure:

  • in each provider’s Setting page > Default roles for user who registered with this provider > is set to Default
  • you didn’t specify the Default Role as Pending in WordPress>Settings>General>New User Default Role, since Theme My Login’s approval works in a way, it sets the User’s role to the default WordPress role once the account is Approved/Confirmed.

Please make sure you didn’t specify the Default Role as Pending in WordPress>Settings>General>New User Default Role, since Theme My Login’s approval works in a way, it sets the User’s role to the default WordPress role once the account is Approved/Confirmed.
For example:
You have set up an admin approval moderation in TML and you have specified the ‘Subscriber’ role as the New User Default Role in WordPress. Which means when a new user is registered it will marked with the Pending role! Once an admin click on Approve, the user will inherit the ‘New User Default Role’ which is set to Subscriber!
If your ‘New User Default Role’ is set to Pending, then the Approve link of TML won’t work, since it would set the user’s role to Pending again!

These will make each newly registered user’s role to Pending, which will prevent them from logging in until their accounts got the appropriate rights to login.